Thursday, 15 October 2026
Anawords

The briefing

Thursday, 15 October · the key facts, one line each
  1. 1
    Google opens Gemini 4 Argon to developers worldwide and to paid Gemini subscribers

    Google made Gemini 4 Argon available on 13 October 2026 to developers worldwide through the Gemini API, and to Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers in the Gemini app and AI Mode in Search.

    Models & Launches
  2. 2
    Google Play lets people run their own AI-built “personal apps” on Android without publishing them

    Google said on 13 October 2026 that people can now launch their own AI-built Android apps privately through Google Play.

    Tools & Apps · Based on an unconfirmed report
  3. 3
    SpaceX’s AI business bundles Grok, Cursor and X Premium into one subscription from $8 a month

    SpaceX’s AI business launched The X Subscription on 12 October 2026, bundling Grok, Cursor’s coding agents and X Premium.

    Tools & Apps
  4. 4
    AI coding agents add 30% more code but not more finished software, Harvard researchers find

    Harvard economists Fiona Chen and James Stratton studied about 300 million work events from more than 700 software companies.

    Research
  5. 5
    Meta says attackers used an employee’s stolen login to copy code from some of its GitHub repositories

    Meta said on 13 October 2026 that an outside group used an employee’s stolen credentials to access some of its GitHub code repositories.

    Safety & Trust

How every Anawords story is made

Read our standards →
Researched firstEach story’s research note goes live before the story: every source read, used or not.
LabelledConfirmed, reported, company claim or unconfirmed. You always know which.
Checked and approvedFacts are checked against their sources, and a named editor approves every story. We say how each one was checked.
Updated in publicOne page per story. Every change and correction is listed.

More stories

All stories →

Model tracker

ModelLabContextInput · 1M tokensStory
Gemini 4 ArgonGoogle DeepMind1M tokens (shared input/output)$2 (intro), then $411 h ago
Microsoft-Decision-1MicrosoftNot stated$0.04212 Oct
GPT-6 Sol / GPT-6 Luna (ChatGPT)OpenAINot statedIncluded in ChatGPT plans11 Oct
Claude Haiku 5.5AnthropicNot stated on launch page$0.10 (up to 100K tokens)11 Oct

Each row comes from the model card in the linked story, checked against the lab’s official pages.

Readers ask

Is Gemini 4 Argon free?Answer → How much does the Gemini 4 Argon API cost?Answer → Is it available in India?Answer → What are Google Play personal apps?Answer → Who can use it?Answer →